Tags

, ,

…of bad jokes.

Friday’s ProSeminar lesson: Constitutional law rule number one: don’t joke about viral marketing in the courtroom.

I’m known for some bad, bad jokes. But this one particularly flopped in front of one of my committee members and five classmates!

We were scrutinizing the first amendment’s freedom of speech. Word. For. Word. Making sure everyone had the same understanding of the jargon.  Here’s the code: replace congress with government, speech with expression, and add “unless it is necessary” to “no law.”

So, take this: Congress shall make no law…abridging the freedom of speech or of the press…”
And read this: The government shall make no law, unless necessary…abridging the freedom of expression or of the press…”

Therefore, speech isn’t always free, right? For example, you need to watch what you say on an airplane/at the airport, was my first thought. Or when at a hearing, you don’t want a bunch of friends coming into yell so loud the judge cannot make a decision was the example given in class.

JOKE: “Then how am I supposed to make my viral video?”

Lesson one: don’t stumble on a word when a joke pops out of your mouth.

Lesson two: watch what pops out of your mouth!

The room was dead silent. Finally the professor said something that he didn’t understand and I said “umm….really bad joke?” and then everyone was laughing. I explained that I was thinking of bringing in my flash mob group to start singing in a courtroom but obviously, that wouldn’t be possible now.

Because who doesn’t want something like this in the courtroom? 

And then there’s the possibility of: Just random thoughts of a student in need of more coffee (or less)(depending on how you look at it).

